Opinion

LAST_UPDATED2 Written by Craig Brinkman Monday, 19 April 2010

Reducing Annual IT Operating Budget by 30 Percent
While Achieving State-of-the-Art Systems

Lake Tahoe CC logoLike many California colleges in the current budgetary crisis, Lake Tahoe Community College (LTCC) has very little discretionary funding available for systems sustenance, let alone advancement.

LAST_UPDATED2 Written by Juri Brilts Friday, 09 April 2010

eSchool News logoA week ago, I received my copy of the April 2010 issue of eSCHOOL NEWS. Deborah Ward’s article, Death of a grant proposal: Six lessons learned in post-mortem, on page 34,  was quite revealing.

LAST_UPDATED2 Written by Juri Brilts Tuesday, 09 March 2010

Coins on a notebookRecently, I read two articles that I found extremely germane to the enterprise of grant seeking and grant writing. The first, by Mary Walters, “You Can Get the Grant,” was published January 11, 2010 in Inside Higher Ed.

Ms. Walters correctly assesses that the tone of your prose can affect how the reviewers read and react to your proposal. She states that a hesitant or negative tone becomes a sure sign of lack of confidence. Being too verbose, lacking clarity, use of excessive technical terms and generalities can sink your proposal.

 

LAST_UPDATED2 Written by David Hammond Wednesday, 31 March 2010

www link pointer imageA long-standing privacy vulnerability that exists in every major Web browser is about to finally get fixed, thanks to Mozilla engineer David Baron.

LAST_UPDATED2 Written by Tim Calhoon Friday, 26 February 2010

California AbstractThere are a number of systemwide and intersegmental applications that provide services to our students and colleges in use across the state.